01:25 AM

DMC inducts three newest “Hall of Fame” members, recognizes 128 “outstanding” students during 71st Annual Recognition Ceremony

Teachers of the Year also named during annual event held in Richardson Performance Hall

Article by: Rosa Linda Reynoso

For over seven decades, the Del Mar College (DMC) campus community has anticipated the annual Recognition Ceremony, an event that celebrates students and educators for their academic achievements,  community service and mentorship.

On Wednesday, May 10, participants walked the stage to receive their awards during the College’s 71st Annual Recognition Ceremony held in Richardson Performance Hall.

The College honored 128 students who received “Outstanding Achievement” Awards in programs of study in the institution’s academic divisions, along with this year’s newest members of its prestigious “Hall of Fame.”

As a time-honored tradition since 1949, this year’s Hall of Fame inductees are history/social studies major Dorothy Barringer, paralegal studies major Rebecca Farias and Abigail Martinez, a criminal justice major. Students are selected for their scholarship, leadership and participation in student organizations. These three students join the ranks of nearly 422 inductees who have set the bar for becoming Hall of Fame honorees.

Barringer has been active in several DMC student organizations and held many roles. She is the current captain of the Vocal Viking Speech Team and serves as secretary of the American Association of University Women. Among College activities that Barringer has helped organize or assisted as a volunteer include the Day of the Woman (recognizing contributions of women in community), Denim Day (sexual assault awareness), RAINN Day (rape, abuse, incest awareness), Texas Speech Communication Association Conference and many other campus events. She is also an advocate for the Scouts of America and Rockport Little Theater, along with many other community and campus service initiatives. Additionally, Barringer has won numerous awards for informative speaking at speech tournaments and has been included in the Dean’s List.

Among the organizations and roles that Farias served are as secretary of the Legal Professionals Club, member of the League of Women Voters and CC Association of Legal Professionals Mentorship Program. Some activities she has participated in included as a guest on Leading Ladies of CC Podcast and Spanish cultural events on campus. Among awards she has earned are the Boy Scouts of America Volunteer Merit Badge, NALA Paralegal Association Student of the Year nominee and the Dean’s List. Additionally, Farias has volunteered for the Scouts of America, Art featured in Art Center of CC and the American Red Cross.

Martinez has been active in several DMC student organizations and served several roles. She is the current president of the Geoscience Society and Alpha Beta Gamma Honor Society. Other organizations she’s involved with are the Vocal Viking Speech Team and the American Association of University Women. Among College activities that Martinez has helped organize or assisted are the DMC Fall Festival, Geoscience Field Trips and the Texas Speech Communication Association Conference. She has also volunteered for the Ruck March, Benefits for Cancer survivors and Holiday Wrapping for Burn Pits 360. Additionally, Martinez has won multiple awards in persuasive speaking at speech tournaments and has been included in the Dean’s List.

During the annual Recognition Ceremony, the Student Government Association also recognizes Teachers of the Year, who are determined by students nominating and voting for their favorite faculty member on each DMC campus. For 2023, those individuals represent the Heritage Campus and the Windward Campus with Oso Creek Campus to be included next year. The 2023 Teachers of the Year are Christine Lamb, Instructor of Student Success with the Communications, Languages and Reading Department on the Heritage Campus, and Monica Martinez, Assistant Instructor of Dental Hygiene with the Dental & Imaging Technology Department on the Windward Campus.

Before celebrating the College’s 2023 Hall of Famers, “Outstanding” students crossed the stage to receive their awards, including:


Accounting: Yaneli Diaz, Christian Flores, Dana Hall, Alma Martinez, Ambert Robertson and Kosal Sim

Cosmetology: Seneca Sanchez

Dental Assisting: Isela De Los Santos, Emma Durbin, Amanda Helsel and Jacelyn Hohensee

Dental Hygiene: Christina Bauert, Kimberly Burch, Brenda Cepeda, Tiffany Cotto, Hannah Engelmann, Ariel Garcia, Julissa Gay, K. Lawrin Grimes, Karina Guajardo, Samantha Guerra, Jordan Herbold, Tyler Hernandez, Sarai Lopez, Amanda McCall, Jordan Mendoza, Meagan Mikes, Cloressa Payne, Rebecca Pena, Trisha Pena, Danielle Ramirez, Elise Ramos, Nina Salinas, Jessie Southern, Emmy Tran, Tran Tran, Shana Tuibeo, Cheyenne Varner, Jacquelin Villarreal and Brooke Zipprian

Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Ysatis Garcia-Robles

Echocardiography: Judy Dinh

Management: Curtis W. Benes, Serina H. Mata and Mia Noelle Trevino

Nursing: Edgar Garcia Gomez, Brandon Harrison, Crystal Proa, Alexis Rendon and Omoye Sade

Radiologic Technology: Corrine Garcia



Advertising/Public Relations: Samantha Sparks

Art: Kariece Bowles, Eddina Coppage, Jonathan Donna, Sharra Galindo, Christina Gatchel, Stephen Nevares, Samantha Nieves, Nathan Olivarez, Symphony Rose, Victoria Shull and Katherine Smith

Drama: Ethan Sullivan

English: Judy Nikol Gonzales, Derek B. Nicolay and Kassandra L. Sandoval

Journalism: Irene Flores

Music: Emanuel J. Chavez and Matthew G. Perkins

Psychology: Cheyenne Barnett

Social Work: Alberto Martinez

Speech: Dorothy Barringer



Air Conditioning Applied Technology: Kyle Hamilton Baker and Raydene A. Penitusi

Automotive Applied Technology: Rachel Marie Hediger

Electrician: Dominick Isaac Rodriguez



Biotechnology: Charley R. Garrett

Child Development/Early Childhood: Margaret A. Perez

Computer Science, Engineering and Advanced Technology: Edgar Alonzo, Anointiyae Lajoy Beasley, Devereaux Brewer, Brenden Carlos Galvan, Aleena Garcia, Richard Levoice Gidrey, William Goranson, Martin Edward Schmitt, Keanu Tyrell Singleton and Caitlyn Elizabeth Vasquez

Education: Joria Alvarado, Kassandra Sandoval and Jodi Santillan

Kinesiology: Cynthia Pauline Cervantes-Orta, Dylan Conway and Matthew Martinez

Mathematics: Jhovanni Loeza and Sarena Nesmith

Physics: Jeffrey R. Borgstedte


About Del Mar College

Del Mar College empowers students to achieve their dreams. We offer quality programs, individual attention, outstanding instruction through faculty with real-world experience and affordable costs to credit and noncredit students in Corpus Christi and the South Texas Coastal Bend area. Nationally recognized while locally focused, we’re ranked in the top two percent of community colleges in the country granting associate degrees to Hispanic students (Community College Week). Del Mar College focuses on offering our students programs that match current or emerging career opportunities. Whether students are interested in the fine arts, sciences, business, occupational or technical areas, students get the education they need for the future they want at Del Mar College.